Attraction of the leading scientists to Russian institutions of higher learning, research organizations of the governmental academies of sciences, and governmental research centers of the Russian Federation

Nanocatalysts and Functional Materials Laboratory

About the laboratory

This laboratory was established as part of a scientific research project supported with a monetary grant awarded by the Government of the Russian Federation under a grant competition designed to provide governmental support to scientific research projects implemented under the supervision of the world's leading scientists at Russian institutions of higher learning (Resolution of the RF Government No.220 of April 9, 2010).

Link to the official website

Grant Agreement No.:

Name of the institution of higher learning:
Togliatti state university

Fields of scientific research:
Materials rechnologies


Development of physical and chemical foundations and technologies of fabrication of fundamentally new nanocatalysts based on nonprecious metals.

Leading scientist


Leading scientist's full name: Romanov, Alexey Yevgenyevich

Link to leading scientist's profile

Academic degree and title:
Doctor of physical and mathematical sciences, senior researcher

Job title:
Leading researcher of the solid-state theory section of the Institute of Physical Engineering named after A. F. Ioffe of the Russian Academy of Sciences (St. Petersburg).
Professor of the physics of nanostructures at the University of Tartu's Institute of Physics (Tartu, Estonia).
Head of the science department of the "Optogan" group of companies (St. Petersburg).
Professor at the department of LED technologies at the National Research University ITMO (St. Petersburg).
Head of research at the Nanocatalysts and Functional Materials Laboratory at the Togliatti State University (Togliatti).

Field of scientific interests:
- Theory of dislocations and disclinations in condensed matter.
- Mesoscopic models of plastic deformation and disintegration of solid bodies, material mechanics.
- Physical and mechanical properties of amorphous, nanostructured, and nanocomposite materials, micro-particles and atomic clusters.
- Nanomechanics of defects in thin film materials in electronics and optoelectronics.

Scientific recognition:
• 1991-1992, Alexander von Humboldt Foundation scholar (Bonn, Germany).
• 1993-1993, participant of the National Research Council's CAST Program (Washington, USA).
• 1994-1995, head of projects funded by the International Science Foundation (a.k.a. Soros Foundation), (Washington, USA).
• 1993-1994, head of INTAS projects (Brussels, European Union).
• 1998-2002, head of a Volkswagen Foundation project (Hannover, Germany).
• 2000, Honorary Mercator Professor title granted by the German Physical Society (Bonn, Germany).
• 2006, Honorary Erasmus Mundus Scholarship (Brussels, European Union).
• 2006-2013, head and participant of projects funded by the Russian Foundation for Fundamental Research (RFFR), (Moscow).
• 2008-2011, Honorary Marie Curie Senior Fellowship (Brussels, European Union).
• Member of the editorial boards of relevant scientific journals, organizational committees of international scientific conferences, and scientific societies.
• 2003-2013, author of 106 articles published in referenced peer review journals.
• 2003-2013, participant of international conferences and seminars whereat he has delivered 30 invited reports.

Back to top